You are here

CEPAR researchers receive UNSW Business School Staff Excellence Awards


The UNSW Business School celebrated the 2021 Business School Staff Excellence Awards in a virtual ceremony, recognising the outstanding contributions of its academics and professional staff, their achievements, and dedication throughout the year.

A number of CEPAR researchers were recognised in the categories Leadership, Research Excellence, Research Impact, and Education Excellence.

The Dean’s Distinguished Leadership Award has been awarded to CEPAR Deputy Director Professor Hazel Bateman in recognition of her meritorious and distinguished leadership and exceptional contributions to the reputation of the Business School.

CEPAR Associate Investigator Dr Yang Shen was highly commended for the Research Excellence Award, recognising the highest quality of research published in the past 12 months.

CEPAR Associate Investigator Associate Professor Isabella Dobrescu received the Research Impact Award, recognising her impact outside the academic community over the past 12 months.

CEPAR Senior Research Fellow George Kudrna, Director Scientia Professor John Piggott and Chief Investigator Professor Michael Sherris received Highly Commended Research Impact Awards, recognising the impact they achieved outside academia and contributions to knowledge exchange.

The UNSW Business School Staff Excellence Values in Action Award has been awarded to the UNSW BCom Redesign Team and BCom Project Team which includes CEPAR’s PhD Graduate Xiao Xu and Associate Investigators Dr Katja Hanewald and Dr Andrés Villegas, and colleagues at the UNSW Business School’s School of Risk and Actuarial Studies.