You are here

CEPAR Deputy Director Hazel Bateman receives UNSW Business School Dean’s Distinguished Leadership Award

Hazel Bateman

Image: Professor Hazel Bateman

CEPAR Deputy Director Professor Hazel Bateman has been awarded the Dean’s Distinguished Leadership Award at the 2021 UNSW Business School Staff Excellence Awards Ceremony, in recognition of her meritorious and distinguished leadership and exceptional contributions to the reputation of the Business School.

Hazel Bateman is Professor in the School of Risk & Actuarial Studies at UNSW Sydney and a Chief Investigator and Deputy Director of CEPAR.

She has expertise in pension economics, behavioural retirement insurance and consumer finance. Her current research investigates the role of choice and information architecture, financial advice and financial literacy on lifecycle financial decisions including superannuation, housing and aged care.

Hazel works closely with the financial services industry, superannuation and pension funds and policymakers in Australia and internationally and has consulted to international organisations including the World Bank and the OECD.

She is Chair of the Netspar Scientific Council, a member of the Consultative Committee of UniSuper, an academic member of the China Ageing Finance Forum and serves on the Advisory Boards of the Mercer CFA Institute Global Pension Index and the Conexus Institute. In 2019 she was appointed inaugural President of the International Pensions Research Association (IPRA).