You are here

Advisory Board

The chief role of the Advisory Board is to facilitate two-way engagement between stakeholders and researchers. Board members provide independent advice to the Management Committee with regard to strategy and external relations, facilitate the Centre's engagement with relevant stakeholders, identify new opportunities for engagement, and act as advocates and champions of CEPAR.


Marc J de Cure
Chair, Advisory Board

BCom (Hons) UNSW, MWine Quality UWS, FCA
Adjunct Professor, CEPAR, UNSW Business School

Marc de Cure has long recognised the social and economic significance of demographic change and the need to undertake and promulgate research to inform government policy, and social and commercial responses. He played a key role in establishing CEPAR and provides critical input to the development of the Centre’s ongoing strategy, and engagement activities. He has chaired both the Advisory Board and the Leaders’ Forum since inception.
Marc has been a member of the Business Advisory Council of the UNSW Business School since 2001 and was appointed as an Adjunct Professor at the UNSW Business School in 2015. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) from UNSW, a Master of Wine Quality from UWS and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia. Marc has been a non-executive company director and senior executive in financial and professional services groups across Australasia and Europe. He was AIA Group’s Executive Vice President & CFO and AMP Group’s CFO, Executive General Manager Strategy and Executive Director of its main operating entities. In professional services Marc was a senior Partner with PwC, including Chair of its Australian Financial Services practice and Managing Partner of its Asia Pacific Risk Management practice, and was also a Principal Advisor with Bain & Company.

Richard Ainley
Partner, Consulting, PwC

Matt Flavel 
Deputy Secretary, Social Security, Department of Social Services 

Dr David Gruen AO
Australian Statistician, Australian Bureau of Statistics

Natalie Horvat
First Assistant Secretary, Economic Division, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Lynn Kelly
First Assistant Secretary, Retirement, Advice and Investment Division, The Treasury

Michael Lye
Deputy Secretary Ageing and Aged Care, Department of Health and Aged Care

Dr Michael Orszag
Head of Research, WTW

Robert Palacios
Lead Economist, The World Bank Group

The Hon Kay Patterson AO 
Age Discrimination Commissioner, Australian Human Rights Commission

Dr John Simon
Head, Economic Research, Reserve Bank of Australia

Patricia Sparrow
Chief Executive, Council on the Ageing (COTA)

Joann Wilkie
Deputy Secretary, Economic Strategy and Productivity Group, NSW Treasury

David Woods
Chief Economist, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)

Ian Yates AO
Independant member

Department of Education, Skills and Employment

MLC Wealth

CEPAR Representatives

Colleen Faes-Scott
CEPAR Director of Operations

Anne Gordon
CEPAR Director of Operations

Professor Warwick McKibbin AO
CEPAR Director of Policy Engagement

Professor John Piggott AO
CEPAR Director

Professor Michael Sherris
CEPAR Director of Industry Engagement